KKR won the IPL Trophy for the 3rd time..!!

Sowmiya Sriram

KKR won the IPL Trophy for the 3rd time..!!

Kolkata Knight Riders won the IPL 2024 final against Sunrisers hyderabad by 8 wickets to win the trophy for the 3rd time. After winning the toss and batting first, Sunrisers hyderabad scored just 113 runs against kolkata Knight Riders at the MA chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Both abhishek Sharma and Travis Head were the openers. In this, Mitchell Starc, who was auctioned for Rs 24.75 crore, bowled the first over. abhishek Sharma was dismissed for 2 runs in the 5th ball of that over. Travis Head got out as a golden duck in the 2nd over bowled by Vaibhav Arora. In the last 4 matches played this season, he scored 0(1), 0(2), 34(28), and 0(1) respectively. After this, in the 5.2th over bowled by Starc, rahul Tripathi made a run for 9 runs. At the end of 5 overs, hyderabad lost 3 wickets and scored only 23 runs.

He was followed by nitish kumar Reddy, who is celebrating his 21st birthday today. He hit a four, and a six, and dismissed Harshit Rana for 13 runs. Finally, Aiden Markram hit 3 fours off 23 balls and Andre Russell was dismissed for 20 runs. Through this, Sunrisers hyderabad scored only 62 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 10.2 overs. Then Heinrich Klassen and Shahbaz ahmed joined the pair. But Shahbaz ahmed did not make much of an impact. He was bowled out for 8 runs and impact player Abdul Samad walked for 4 runs. The much-relied Heinrich Klaasen was dismissed for 16 off Harshit Rana.

At that time Hyderabad team had scored only 90 runs in 14.1 overs with the loss of 8 wickets. Thiswas followed by Jaydev Unathgad's 4 runs off sunil Narine's lbw. Finally, Pat Cummins was dismissed for 24 runs and Sunrisers hyderabad lost all wickets in 18.3 overs and scored only 113 runs. With this, theHyderabad team has created the worst record of being the team with the lowest score in the IPL final. The previous lowest score in an IPL final was 125 runs. Apart from that, no player in the team even reached 25 runs in 33 innings in the IPL final. Pat Cummins was the only top scorer with 24 runs. As far as bowling is concerned, Andre Russell took 3 wickets. Mitchell Starc and Harshit Rana took 2 wickets each. Vaibhav Arora, sunil Narine, and varun Chakraborty took one wicket each.

Chasing an easy target, sunil Narine was dismissed for 6 runs in the Kolkata Knight Riders team. He was followed by Gurbaz ahmed and venkatesh Iyer who played together. In this Kurbas was dismissed for 39 runs. He was followed by Shreyas Iyer. Finally, KKR scored 114 runs in 10.3 overs won by 8 wickets, and won the trophy for the 3rd time. Earlier, gautam Gambhir-led KKR won the trophy in 2012 and 2014. shreyas iyer has now won the trophy for the first time.

Find Out More:

Related Articles: