After LS polls, Telangana parties now gearing up for key MLC by-poll

The primary political contenders have stepped up their campaigns for the by-election of the Member of Legislative Council (MLC) from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Graduates' seat, even though the polling for the lok sabha elections in telangana has concluded.
To win over voters in the May 27 by-election, the candidates of the incumbent congress, the opposition Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), and the bharatiya janata party (BJP) are competing with one another.

Spread across 34 assembly seats in the former districts of warangal, Khammam, and Nalgonda, the constituency has 4.6 lakh electors. Although 52 people are running, the race will mostly be a triangle between the congress, the BRS, and the BJP.
Palla Rajeshwar reddy of the BRS resigned after winning election to the assembly in november 2023 from the Jangaon seat, creating the vacancy.
In an attempt to hold onto the seat, the BRS has fielded A. Rakesh reddy, who had joined it shortly before the assembly elections after being turned down for a ticket from the warangal constituency and had left the BJP.

This time around, Chintapandu Naveen, better known as Teenmaar Mallanna, is running as a candidate for Congress. Two years earlier, he ran as an independent and placed second in the race for the MLC seat.
G. Premender reddy, the state general secretary for the bjp, is running again; in 2021, he came in fourth.
The main contenders have stepped up their campaigns. They are going door-to-door to canvass support for the next by-election.

For congress, the by-election is a prestige contest since the party wants to show that it still has the backing of recent graduates. One of its main campaign pledges during the assembly elections was to provide jobs for unemployed youngsters, and it is restating its intention to fill two lakh positions through the telangana State Public service Commission (TSPSC) by the end of 2024.
Academician M. Kodandaram, the president of telangana Jana Samiti (TJS), ran for office in this MLC seat in 2021 but came in third. Allegations surdata-faced suggesting that voters were given money in an attempt to unseat Kodandaram, a fierce opponent of BRS President and former chief minister K. chandrasekhar Rao (KCR).

Former osmania university political science professor Kodandaram was the convenor of the Joint Action Committee (JAC), which comprised trs (now BRS), and he was instrumental in the telangana agitation. He was regarded as being near KCR. But once telangana was formed in 2014, disagreements emerged, and Kodandaram proposed the TJS.
Kodandaram supported the congress in the most recent assembly elections, and the congress reciprocated by selecting him to the Legislative Council under the Governor's quota.
Teenmaar Mallanna is certain that she can unseat BRS since she has the support of ministers and chief minister A. revanth Reddy.
In the graduates' constituency, 33 of the 34 MLAs are members of the ruling party.

Before the assembly elections, Mallanna, a member of the Munnuru Kapu community's Backward Classes, joined the Congress. He had previously been in the BJP.
The BRS, whose commanders refer to Mallanna as a "blackmailer," is making every effort to defeat him. Mallanna is the owner of a YouTube channel where kcr and his family are frequently criticized. He was taken into custody for allegedly making disparaging remarks and postings about kcr while BRS was in government.
Voters are being urged by the BRS to choose the intelligent candidate Rakesh reddy, who finished his graduate studies in the United States. To get the backing of graduates, the bjp is counting on the PM narendra modi factor.

Voting will take place on May 27 and the ballots will be counted on june 5, one day after the lok sabha election results are announced.
The state's major political figures are also awaiting the outcome of a subsequent by-election.
The mahabubnagar Local Authorities' Constituency conducted a by-election to the Legislative Council on march 28, with the vote count set for april 2. But in light of the model code of conduct that was established for the lok sabha elections, the election commission decided to push out the counting to june 2.

Find Out More:

Related Articles: