Chhattisgarh: Tribal dominated Surguja and Bastar supported BJP...

Tribal-dominated North region Surguja and South region Bastar, which played an important role in forming the

government in Chhattisgarh, have supported the bharatiya janata party (BJP) this time. In the 2018 elections,

Congress had won 25 out of 26 seats in this region. There are 14 seats in Surguja division of the state, out of which

nine are reserved for the Scheduled Tribe category. There are 12 seats in Bastar division, out of which 11 seats are

reserved for the Scheduled Tribe category. After the formation of the state, congress had won all the 14 seats of

Surguja region for the first time in the 2018 elections. congress had then ousted bjp, which was in power for 15

years, by winning 68 seats in the state.

In this election, bjp has won all the seats of Surguja region. Out of 14 seats in six districts of the region, bjp has

won Bharatpur Sonhat, Manendragarh, Baikunthpur, Premnagar, Bhatgaon, Pratappur, Ramanuganj, Samri,

Lundra, Ambikapur, Sitapur, Jashpur, Kunkuri and Pathalgaon seats. Senior congress leader and Deputy Chief

Minister of the state TS Singhdev has lost to BJP's Rajesh Aggarwal by 94 votes. Meanwhile, tribal leader and

minister Amarjeet Bhagat has lost the Sitapur seat to bjp candidate and former CRPF personnel ram Kumar

Toppo by a margin of 17,160. bjp mp Gomti Sai has defeated Congress's Rampukar Singh by 255 votes in

Pathalgaon seat.

Find Out More:

Related Articles: