How important Mewar is for Rajasthan? let us understand...

Sekar Chandra
Mewar is 394 km from Jaipur. There is a district situated in the south whose data-borders meet with Madhya

Pradesh and Gujarat. Even though this area is historically called Mewar, at present it is called Udaipur

division. After the changes in divisions this year, udaipur division includes udaipur, Rajsamand, Chittorgarh,

Bhilwara and Salumber districts. Earlier, Banswara, Dungarpur and Pratapgarh districts were also included in

this division.

Mewar itself has given four Chief Ministers to rajasthan, among these Chief Ministers, Mohan Lal Sukhadia

has been the leader who held this post for the longest period i.e. for a total of 16 years. Apart from this,

leaders of Mewar have also been getting a place in the cabinet.

Whose party is in power in Mewar, the same party is in power in Rajasthan. If we look at the old election

results of Mewar, we will find that except the results of 2018, the same party which has won in this division is

in power in all the previous elections. In the elections held in 2013, out of 28 seats, bharatiya janata party had

won 25 seats, while congress had won only two seats. At that time, the bharatiya janata party government

had come to power in rajasthan also.

Similarly, in the year 2008, congress had won 19 seats and bharatiya janata party 7 seats from this division,

this time also the congress party came to power in the state. Before delimitation in the year 2003, out of 25

seats, bharatiya janata party got 18 seats and congress got 5 seats. This time also the government in the state

was formed by Bharatiya Janata Party. Although this happened for the first time in the assembly elections held

in 2018 when bharatiya janata party got 15 seats and congress got 10 seats, yet the government in the state

was of Congress.

Find Out More:

Related Articles: