80 newly-elected MLAs in Telangana have criminal records

As many as 80 newly elected MLAs in telangana data-face criminal charges, including 16 lawmakers charged with telangana agitation and violating the Model Code of Conduct. According to the Forum for Good Governance, an NGO, 65 MLAs in the last assembly had criminal proceedings filed against them. The total has now risen to 80. Fifty of the 64 newly elected MLAs in congress data-face charges, accounting for 78 percent of the ruling party's MLAs.
According to the NGO, 19 of the 39 BRS MLAs (48%) have complaints against them. The bjp has the highest proportion, at 87 percent, since seven of its eight MLAs are facing criminal charges. Four of MIM's seven MLAs (57%) have charges against them as well. Furthermore, the NGO stated that it appears that the number of MLAs with criminal charges is growing from election to election.
"Despite the supreme Court's directive that political parties not give tickets to people with criminal records," stated M. Padmanabha Reddy, President of the Forum for Good Governance, "parties are using winnability as the criterion." Last month, the NGO examined the criminal histories of the candidates and discovered that 226 nominees from four major political parties data-face criminal charges. A committee had reviewed the applicants' affidavits and issued a report. 84 of the 118 candidates for congress data-faced criminal charges.
Telangana MLAs and leaders with most criminal cases

A. revanth Reddy, the chairman of the telangana Pradesh congress Committee (TPCC), leads the list with 89 instances. Vedma Bhojju of khanapur (ST) has 52 complaints against him, while Kokkirala Premsagar Rao of mancherial has 32. All of these candidates were elected.
89 complaints have been filed against bjp mla Raja Singh, who was re-elected from Goshamahal. He is well-known for making hate speeches and has been arrested several times for infringing on the religious sensibilities of other communities.
Gangula Kamalakar, the BRS leader who was re-elected from Karimnagar, has ten charges. Outgoing chief minister K. chandrasekhar Rao, who was re-elected from Gajwel, is facing nine charges.
Furthermore, BRS working president K.T. Rama Rao, who was re-elected from Siricilla, is facing eight charges.

MIM mla Akbaruddin Owaisi has six cases against him, while three others have one case each against them.

Find Out More:

Related Articles: